Mobile Food Unit

A mobile food unit (MFU) is a food and beverage service establishment that is a vehicle mounted unit, either motorized or trailer, and readily movable, without disassembling, for transport to another location. The unit can operate no more than 21 days annually at any one place unless granted authorization by the City, or unless the unit is operated in conjunction with a permanent business licensed under Minnesota Statutes Section 157 or Section 28A at the site of the permanent business by the same individual or company, and readily movable, without disassembling, for transport to another location.

Code Requirements

Guidance relating to food and food handlers is contained in the Maplewood City Code, Chapter 14, Article VI; Minnesota Statutes Section 145A and Section 157; and Minnesota Rule 462610 to Rule 4626.2010. All license holders are required to be familiar with the provisions of this Chapter and with applicable Minnesota Statutes and federal regulations.

Man serving customers from a food truck window

Application Requirements

Notification of Activity

Annual license holders must notify the City (PDF) no less than two days prior to operation of the Mobile Food Unit in the city, or upon movement of the unit to another location within the City.

If operation at a single location is greater than 21 days, annually, City approval is required (Minnesota Statutes Section 157.15, Subdivision 9). If operation at a single location is greater than four months, annually, a Conditional Use Permit (CUP) is required (City Code, Section 44-511, Subdivision 18).

Expiration / Renewal

License term runs March 1st through February 28th (29th during leap year), annually. Renewal must occur on or before the date of expiration.