Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
A witness is not needed for the absentee ballots of registered voters in the 2020 Minnesota State Primary. For new registrations or those who need to re-register a witness is still required and the following information below applies:
Minnesota Election Law requires every voter to show their blank ballot to a witness prior to filling it out. The same witness must also fully complete the witness section on the ballot return signature envelope. Any registered voter in the state can act as a witness. Additional witnesses that do not have a state residency requirement are a:
If you are unable to sign your application you may simply place an "X" mark on the signature line. You may also authorize someone else to sign it for you by having that person sign your name and their name next to it with a note stating that such authorization was given by the voter. A Power of Attorney signature is not acceptable on its own.
You can track the status of your absentee ballot. You will have to provide your name, date of birth, and the same identification number you included on your application.
If your absentee ballot is rejected no later than Friday prior to Election Day, we will send you a replacement ballot and a letter explaining what you need to do to correct the error. The following situations may cause your absentee ballot to be rejected:
You need to complete a different absentee ballot application directly through the Ramsey County Elections Office or the Secretary of State’s Office.
Some residential permits, such as roofing, siding, window replacement, plumbing, mechanical, and electrical permits may be issued in 1-3 days. Residential permits which require plan review should expect at least a 7 to 10 business day wait before the permit is ready to be issued. Some commercial permits may take up to 4 to 8 weeks for plan review. If plans are not complete, the review time will be longer. Therefore, it is important for the applicant to review the plans before submitting to make sure they show specifically what is to be built and how it will be built.
Typically, construction plans do not have to be professionally drawn, but they must be specific enough with dimensions and materials that someone would be able to construct the project from the plans. Please speak to our Building Inspector or Building Official to verify if your project will need architectural or engineered drawings.
Some permits are a flat fee, while other permits are based on the valuation of the cost of material and labor as if a contractor was doing the work. Please call 651-249-2300 for specifics.
Check payments can be mailed or dropped off. Cash payments can be accepted in person. Currently, credit card payments can only be taken over the phone and an additional 2.5% non-refundable credit card processing fee will be added.
1. Permit applications can be submitted by mail or person to:
Community Development Department: 1902 County Road B E Maplewood, MN 55109
2. Complete submittals can be placed in the drop box outside the front door at City Hall 24/7. Verify you have all of the information you need and put the submittal in a clearly marked envelope.
3. Permits that don't need to be reviewed can be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org if you would like to pay with a credit card. An additional 2.5% non-refundable credit card processing fee will be added. Permits that need to be reviewd can also be emailed to this email address.
An inspection card listing the expected inspections for your project is included with the building permit. The individual construction handouts also give some general inspection guidelines. For specific questions, please contact a Building Inspector at 651-249-2300.
Permits are required for any:
We do not require permits for finish work such as new cabinets, carpeting, or painting. If you are not sure if you need a permit, please contact us at 651-249-2300.
Some business licenses can be issued within a day or two; however, licenses which require authorization from other departments should expect at least a 7 to 10 business days before a license is ready to be issued. Licenses which require Council approval or background investigations may experience at least 2 to 4 weeks before a license can be issued.
If applications are not complete, processing time will be longer. Therefore, it is important for the applicant to review all application requirements before submitting.
No. Licenses are specific to the location of the business. Whenever any licensee moves his business within Maplewood, a new license must be applied for under the new address.
Payment can be made using cash, check or credit card. Please call to pay using a credit card.
Completed Business License applications can be submitted the following ways:
Email to email@example.com
Mail to: Maplewood City HallAttn: Business License Specialist1830 County Road B EMaplewood, MN 55109
In person at Maplewood City Hall: Monday through Friday8 am to 4:30 pm
The City of Maplewood issues over 30 types of business licenses. Refer to the list of required licenses on the Business Licensing page for more details. If your business does not require a license, you must apply for a business registration instead. If you are not sure it you need a license or registration, please contact us at 651-249-2005.
The Maplewood City Hall is located at 1830 County Road B East, which is two blocks south of Highway 36 and one block east of White Bear Avenue. Call 651-249-2000 for additional information.
City Council meetings are typically held the second and fourth Monday of the Month. Agendas can be viewed on the City Council web page.
Yes. The cost for a DVD is $5 (which includes 6.5% tax); this is the charge for each DVD. Please know that some council meetings may run longer and will require more than one DVD.
Property taxes include not only City taxes, but also school district, watershed, and county costs. Contact the Ramsey County Tax Department at 651-266-2000 for more information or check the Ramsey County website.
Agendas can be viewed on the City Council web page.
Minnesota has a few identification options for residents to choose from. View the following options, or find out which license or ID card best fits your needs by reviewing a full comparison chart.
The following driver’s manuals are available to view, download and print at the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website:
To order a copy of one of the manuals above, go to the Minnesota Driver’s Manuals website.
The City of Maplewood Department of Motor Vehicles is not an exam station and is unable to conduct written or road exams.
View a List of Exam Locations.
View the Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services' up-to-date guide to determine when you can expect to receive your driver's license or ID.
You can check on the status of your application online.
If your current driver's license or ID is lost, damaged or destroyed, you can come in to apply for a duplicate. For a duplicate license or ID, the photo on file in the system is used to verify identity. If identity cannot be verified, or there has been a name change since the last application, additional identification (PDF) is needed. A fee, paid using cash, check or credit card (Visa, Mastercard, and Discover) is required.
Copies of driving records can be obtained at any exam station.
If you need a certified copy of your record, please fill out the Driver and Vehicle Services Record Request (PDF) and mail, or bring in, to the address listed on the application.
The state has many types of special license plates available:
View a complete guide to the types of plates available (PDF).
You can vote before election day in two ways:
You can vote absentee in person or by mail.
Maplewood City Hall1830 County Road B EMaplewood, MN 55109
Hours:Monday through Friday8 am to 4:30 pm
Saturday Before Election Day10 am to 3 pm
Monday Before Election Day8 am to 5 pm
To have your absentee ballot application mailed to you, contact Ramsey County Elections at 651-266-2171
For more information about voting absentee, visit the Ramsey County Voting web page.
You can vote early during the 7 days before election day at any countywide early voting locations. We will update the locations and hours as they become available.
Use the Online Polling Place Finder.
To vote, you must be:
You may pre-register to vote online, or in person or by mail at the Ramsey County Elections office.
Download and print the Voter Registration Application (PDF).
The pre-registration period ends 21 days before election. For more information on how to register to vote, visit the Ramsey County "Prepare to Vote" page.
It is true that you can register at the polls on election day. However, specific identification is required at that time. Voting will be faster and easier if you are registered to vote when you arrive at the polls on election day.
To register on election day you must present an approved form of identification showing your current Maplewood address. View a list of approved election day registration documents.
Everyone must register in order to vote. You must complete a voter registration application if you have:
Use the online Minnesota Legislature "Who Represents Me?" Tool.
The City of Maplewood needs people to serve as election judges. These are paid positions. Training is provided. If you are interested and are able to work on election day from 6 am until votes are counted in the evening (usually around 10 or 11 pm), call 651-249-2003.
There are 3 fire stations in the City of Maplewood.
Station 1 (South Station)
600 McKnight Road North, Maplewood, MN 55119
Station 2 (Central Station)
1955 Clarence Street, Maplewood, MN 55109
Station 3 (North Station)
1530 County Road C East, Maplewood, MN 55109
The Fire Department has 27 full-time firefighters, who are also Paramedics or EMTs. They work under the guidance of a Battalion Chief, a Chief of EMS, and a Fire Chief.
Yes. There are full-time at all three fire stations, and all stations are staffed 24/7.
In 2017, the Fire Department responded to 5,960 calls. Of these calls, there were 102 fire calls and 5148 EMS calls.
Please call the Chiefs Office at 651-249-2800.
As of June 2018, we are not hiring currently. If you are interested in working for the Maplewood Fire Department, please check the City of Maplewood's Job Postings periodically for opportunities.
No, the Fire Department does not fill up pools for residences.
We would love to have you join the Maplewood Fire Department. If you are interested in working as a firefighter/Paramedic, please check the City of Maplewood’s Job Postings periodically for opportunities.
In 2020, the Fire Department responded to 5512 EMS calls, which accounts for 85% of the calls received. The busiest time for calls is Monday - Friday; 8:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Please contact TransMedic at 651-450-7133.
The biggest concern is related to drainage and how it may affect neighboring properties.
We suggest talking to your neighbors regarding your grade/fill project before starting it.
You will likely be required to post a refundable cash escrow to ensure establishment of vegetation in the disturbed areas.
An erosion control plan and cash escrow for surety will also be required.
Note: Sites that disturb over one acre of land also require permits from the watershed district and the MPCA.
The following are required to have a food permit:
These permits are issued through the Citizens Services Department. Please contact them at 651-249-2005 to obtain the permit application.
The cost of a food establishment, public swimming pool, or lodging permit changes year to year and is dependent on several factors. Please contact the Citizens Services Department at 651-249-2005 to determine the cost of the permit you are interested in.
To report a suspected food-borne illness, please call the Minnesota Department of Health at 877-366-3455 or 651-201-5655.
A public health nuisance, defined by Minnesota Statue 145A, is any activity or failure to act that adversely affects the public health. Examples of a public health nuisance include:
It is important to know and realize that a “messy” or “cluttered” home is not necessarily a public health nuisance. To investigate a public health nuisance, we need first-hand knowledge of the situation. We do not investigate rumors or anonymous complaints. A public health nuisance is different from a public nuisance or a code violation. Examples of a public nuisance or a code violation are long grass and/or parking on the grass.
Please be advised that the City of Maplewood does not have a housing code to enforce. We do not get involved in landlord/tenant disputes. It is advised that a tenant put their complaint/concern in writing and send it certified mail (return receipt requested) to the landlord.
The City of Maplewood does not investigate mold complaints. We are not trained in mold identification, we are not mold experts, nor do we have the ability to test for mold. We follow the Minnesota Department of Health’s guidelines in that if you believe you have a mold problem, treat it as a mold problem. Do not test for mold. Rather, investigate what the problem is (where did the moisture come from), remove the wet material, and then remediate the problem.
There is no acceptable or minimum standard for mold as mold affects everyone differently.
Swimming pools and whirlpool/spas need to be licensed if they are at:
These pools/spas are inspected annually for health and safety violations.
No, there is much for adults to learn as well! Browse through information on native landscaping, natural resource library, and take a self-guided hike around the trails. View our native prairie butterfly gardens, or attend one of our many adult seminars.
We are located one block north of Minnehaha Avenue, and one and a half blocks west of Century Avenue at 2659 East Seventh Street. Look for the green “Maplewood Nature Center” sign on Century Avenue. We are near Dege’s Garden Center and the Dairy Queen. Find us on Google Maps.
Yes! The nature center offers snowshoes for rent for use on the nature center trails. The cost is $5 per pair for 1 to 2 hours. We do not plow the trail.
Skiing is not permitted on Maplewood Nature Center trails; however visitors can bring snowshoes or rent them during visitor center hours. See Snowshoe Rental.
The rental fee for snowshoes is $5 per pair, includes instructions. Snowshoes fit ages 4 to adult. Leave a driver's license at interpretive building, which is open from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm, Tuesday through Saturday. Call 651-249-2170 to reserve snowshoes and check on snow conditions.
The Visitor Center is open Tuesday through Saturday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm all year long. The trails are open 7 days per week, from dawn to dusk.
No pets of any kind are allowed in this Wildlife Sanctuary. Nesting birds, mammals, and plants thank you for respecting this rule.
No, we don’t have facilities for caring for orphaned or injured animals. Please bring it to the wildlife rehab center located in Roseville. Contact them at 651-486-9453 for more information.
Passports are processed and issued by the U.S. Department of State. If you have already applied and would like to check the status of your application, call the National Passport Information Center at 1-877-487-2778 or TDD/TTY at 1-888-874-7793 or visit their website.
Yes, we take passport photos at our location. The fee for photos is $10 per person.
Yes, all applicants must be present when applying for a passport, regardless of age.
Visit the U.S. Department of Sate’s website for more information about applying for a child’s passport:
No. Passport applications are not allowed to be submitted electronically (online). Applications can be filled out online; however, must be printed (single sided, only) and submitted either through the mail or in person at a facility.
Various forms available can be found here, along with eligibility requirements and instructions on how these forms can be submitted.
A Conditional Use Permit (CUP) is a permit acquired from the Planning Division which allows for property to be used in a way that may not necessarily be zoned or otherwise allowed for in the City Code. CUPs are attached to the land rather than the use. Only the City Council may grant CUPs, and only after a public hearing has been held. Applicants for CUPs are required to attend hearings to present their applications.
The City Code establishes standards for most types of development which commonly occur in Maplewood. These standards regulate:
City ordinance provides relief from the requirements of the Zoning Ordinance in unusual circumstances. In order for a variance to be granted the circumstances must meet state statue findings for granting a variance. The process used to grant relief from strict requirements of the City Code is called the variance process. In order to receive a variance, property owners must submit a development application, a recently completed lot survey, and a written narrative.
Only the City Council may grant variances, and only after a public hearing has been held. Applicants for variances are required to attend hearings to present their applications.
A Zoning Letter informs what can and cannot be done with a particular property based on the current zoning and property past history. Depending on the information required, a Zoning Letter can provide information on:
The City charges a fee to prepare a zoning letter. To request a zoning letter you may mail a check and letter of request to:Planning DivisionCity of Maplewood1902 County Road B EMaplewood, MN 55109
Planning staff is always willing to help you determine any setback, parking, or other standard or special requirements for your property. You can contact us by phone at 651-249-2302 or 651-249-2303, or by stopping by the Planning Division Monday through Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm. Our office is located at:1902 County Road B EMaplewood, MN 55109
The City Code is also available online.
Property lines may be located by:
Most setback information is contained in the Zoning Ordinance.
Please visit our Interactive Zoning Map.
Signs can be placed in many locations throughout the City of Maplewood. All signs must be placed within the property on which the advertised use is located. To find out whether the placement of your sign is legal, check City Code.
Generally, all business signs require a Sign Permit before installation. If you are unsure whether or not the type, size, or placement of your sign may be in violation of the City Code, please contact the Planning staff at 651-249-2303.
Sign permit applications are available through the Planning Division or may be downloaded from our Sign Permit page. Once the sign permit application has been filled out properly, they may be turned in or sent to the Planning Division, along with a site plan including:
Once Planning receives a sign permit application package, it is reviewed for completeness and accuracy. Once approved, Planning will contact the applicant when the proper fees have been assessed.
The cost of a sign permit varies. Check the sign application (PDF) to find out how much sign permits cost.
Call the Maplewood Public Works Department at 651-249-2400. The city doesn't repair every sidewalk regularity. It collects and chronicles each complaint and assess the overall need for repair and replacement periodically.
Call Xcel Energy at 800-960-6235.
The street cleaning schedule is as follows:
It’s a State and City violation to blow or place leaves or any other materials onto a public roadway.
The owner is only required to disclose, not fix, any items.